Commonwealth Writers’ Prize

Macquarie Group Foundation backs the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize

Enter now for 2011

As the 2011 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize opens for entry, the Commonwealth Foundation is pleased to announce that the prize will continue to be supported by the Macquarie Group Foundation. For the fifth consecutive year, Macquarie is proud to help advance one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world.

Commonwealth Foundation Director Dr Mark Collins said, “The Macquarie Group Foundation (MGF) has supported the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize each year since 2007, and we’re thrilled that it has committed to the 2011 competition as well. At a time when much financial support for the arts is under threat, it is heartening to see MGF continue to promote cultural understanding, freedom of expression and the rise of new literary talent.”

David Clarke, Chair of the Macquarie Group Foundation said, “The Macquarie Group Foundation is proud to have been a supporter of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize since 2007. During this time the prize has grown to reach more people around the world, encouraging wider reading across a range of Commonwealth cultures, bringing compelling stories of human experience to greater attention and rewarding the rising talent that other prizes often overlook.”

2011 is the 25th Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and it continues to attract new and extremely talented writers. The Prize offers awards for best book and best first book in four regions: Africa; the Caribbean and Canada; South Asia and Europe; and South-East Asia and the Pacific. The eight winners from these regions will be announced in March 2011, and then go through to the final round, where the overall best book and best first book winner will be announced in May 2011.

The prize is open to fiction written by authors from Commonwealth countries published in 2010. Publishers can submit their entries now – go to for all entry and eligibility guidance and an online entry form.

The deadline for entries is 15 November 2010.



  • 30 September – Prize opens for entries
  • 15 November – Deadline for entries
  • 31 December – Deadline for books published in November and December 2010 only
  • Week of 7 February – Regional shortlists announced
  • Week of 7 March – Regional winners announced
  • Week of 16 May – Overall winners announced

The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, established in 1987, is organised and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation with the support of the Macquarie Group Foundation.  The Commonwealth Foundation is an intergovernmental body working to help civil society organisations promote democracy, development and cultural understanding in Commonwealth countries.

The Macquarie Group Foundation is one of Australia’s leading philanthropic foundations and, together with Macquarie staff, has donated more than $A120 million to thousands of community organisations worldwide. It is the philanthropic arm of Macquarie Group Limited which is a global provider of banking, financial, advisory, investment and fund management services.

Publisher enquiries – contact

Media enquiries – contact Marcie Shaoul,, +44 (0) 20 7747 6582.